Random Thoughts on Awe

2012-11-10 001 2012-11-10 012

“When it’s over, I want to say: all my life
I was a bride married to amazement.
I was the bridegroom, taking the world into my arms.
When it is over, I don’t want to wonder
if I have made of my life something particular, and real.
I don’t want to find myself sighing and frightened,
or full of argument.
I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.”
  ~ Mary Oliver

My Silly Old Fool was here for two weeks.  We had friendship filled days and evenings – we played lots of cheat when we can Scrabble and wandered in the local sculpture garden full of colorful Japanese Maples. 

2012-11-10 001 2012-11-10 051

Mary and my daughter Sally hung out together while I had my heart cath (angiogram). The procedure room itself is a wonder of technology; first I was transferred to the surgical table on a floating air mattress – a magic carpet ride. Most amazing was watching blood flow through my Left Ventricle. (No blocks in the arteries or veins was the verdict). My cardiologist is pretty amazing too – he snipped a tiny hole in the femoral artery, slipped a camera into the left ventricle while I was hardly aware of what was happening and we all watched the show on the giant TV screen. Then he plugged the hole with what I think of as the goop in the middle of the modern disposable baby diaper. I walked out of there that afternoon knowing I was cared for by a large group of people dedicated to my well being and others like me. Awesome.

A week after the cath Mary and I drove to Vancouver British Columbia to visit the UBC Campus Museum of Anthropology (MOA) where I believe some of the wonders of the world are held and shown. Every time I go I’m awe struck.

2012-11-11 001 2012-11-11 010          2012-11-11 001 2012-11-11 006

The great hall entrance.                                     

Theologian Matthew Fox, speaking of our educational systems once told a group of us “that if children are not taught to feel their awe (at the wonders around us), they will become awful.” As I think adults demonstrate when we are not in awe of the variety of the images of G-d we come in, ready to create a loving world. Film maker Jason Silva shows us moments of awe in his video reminding us we are creatures capable of awe every moment of our short lives. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/14/jason-silva-shots-of-awe-existential-bummer_n_4269849.html

Currently at MOA there is also a display of the awful we humans perpetuate; photos and letters from Native children throughout Canada who were banished to residential schools.


Speaking to Memory: Images and Voices from St. Michael’s Residential School

The other new display is Magical Realism

2013-11-12 001 2013-11-12 021   2013-11-12 001 2013-11-12 017

Arguments abound in academia and philosophy about Magical Realism. I believe it is certainly a felt experience. I enjoy and admire Freida Kalho’s work painted to relieve her constant pain from injury. I just finished reading Alice Hoffman’s book the Story Sisters about alleviating a child’s pain she cannot speak about until almost too late; a perfect example of what I’d call magical realism.  My interest has been tweaked, and that I find is the purpose of new experiences. http://www.angelfire.com/wa2/margin/.

My Silly Old Fool and I love the movies so I can’t end this blog without sharing: Fist we saw Haute Cuisine, a French foody movie full of emotion, history and silliness. Then another story of women pushing the limits; Wadja, about a young Saudi Arabian girl in a restrictive culture who wants a bike!

 Vanishing Ice, a passionate movie also about pushing limits, in conjunction with the local museum show of the same name, all about the vanishing glaciers. The last movie we viewed was at the local bigplex – Gravity in 3-D. It is an hilarious hour of Sandra Bullock heavy panicked breathing while she floats through space desperately working to land an abandoned space vehicle while avoiding space debris destined to send her into the next world. As my daughter Sally said, “Its what movies are all about!!

Now I’m off to support my friend Priscilla while she experiences the awesome magic of having a cataract removed!  Stay tuned… to all that is around us.  Blessings, Marian

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Awesome, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Thoughts on Awe

  1. Mary Soper says:

    Yes Indeed, I am the ‘Silly Old FOOL’ a name that evolved long ago around a shopping trip and a great black hat. I could go on or leave it to your imagination.
    While Marian can not take in everyone, she sure was magic to live with for two weeks. Bellingham and the great North West was a wonderful place to visit as you can tell from some of the pictures.

    We did not keep a scrabble score, however I think we need to progress to that next time if for no other reason than to alleviate the ‘gotcha’ instinct’.

    Love…. the woman who now owns the black hat and a mauve flower

  2. Beautiful, Marian; it brings back so many memories and images (especially the museum of anthropology!), sends my mind and imagination soaring.

Leave a Reply

