Heart

momwedding

Laying awake in the middle of the night I decided to write about heart. I wasn’t sure where I was going with the idea.

My father always gave my mother fancy, flowery romantic Valentines. Then she would have him frame them for her. When she died we found them with her things – some still hung on the wall of their assisted living home. One hung on the wall of Dad’s apartment until he died years after Mother. Dad was the romantic. He’d walk in after a long day in his TV repair shop and dip mom back and give her a big smooch. She’d respond “Glenn, not in front of the children.”  Of course we loved it.

My dad died just a year ago. At 95 he confessed to me his sorrow that before mom died he laid down beside her on her hospital bed and held her. She told him how sad she was that he hadn’t held her for a very long time.

This is a Valentine to my parents whose love for each other supported me and my brothers and sister and cousins. It is also a reminder to all of us that we need to be told that we are loved. We need cards and candy, homemade or storebought. And we need to be hugged and held, tickled and danced, tucked in with stories and kisses, and greeted with a smile in the morning.  Today and tomorrow and forever.  Happy Valentine’s Day.

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Heart

  1. Louise says:

    Right on!

  2. Marian I love you and am sending hugs

    Happy v day back V

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Recently, I made a collage of some of the Valentines my Dad had saved –some from my Mother and some he had given her and others from his children and grandchildren. He asked me to hang the collage outside his apartment door and I suspect all who see it will feel some of the love reflected in those Valentines.

  4. gwpj says:

    Thank you so much for this, Marian. It reminds me of my parents, and how much my mother missed my father when he died.

    • George, Dad wore Mom’s wedding ring on a chain around his neck. He talked to her every night before he went to sleep. We laughed because he carried her picture next to his credit card because he spent more money than she’d have approved… What a pair they were.

  5. dkzody says:

    Wonderful story. Thank you for sharing the memories of your parents.

Leave a Reply

