Endings

moving 021  moving 020 moving 022

I’ve done a lot of living in my lovely little home here in the barn – yes Mother, I’ve been living in a barn for 3 years. But, at the end of October I’m going through that pink back door one last time. I am going on walk-about, a journey, a pilgrimage, a vision quest…

My soul sorting began seven years ago on the path to divorce. I was lost in the jungle in Saipan where we’d lived for over a year. There was a full moon and I was not afraid of being lost in the jungle; I was terrified of being alone in the world. That night I vowed to live open-heartedly, to not shut down, and not shut out all that lives and loves around and in me.

Wonderful friends supported me through my last 2 years in Saipan. Then, five years ago my son and his wife took me into their Seattle home to care for their new baby Zebedee and his 3-year old sister Phoebe. Three years ago we all moved to Bellingham where my oldest daughter Sally and her husband Keith also live. Zeb is beginning all day kindergarten and Phoebe is now in 3rd grade. In May I finished my doctoral dissertation titled One Can Hear Only With the Heart, A Map of Living Openheartedly. In July, I turned 68, with a diploma stating I’ve earned my Doctorate of Ministry in Wisdom Studies. I feel like a kid just set loose – but I’m setting out with purpose.

For many years friends and I have talked about what we’ll do when we have only Social Security income and yet desire active lives mending this torn world. There are models available throughout the country for people who have independent finances sharing land and decision making but not many for women (and others) with limited resources living in planned and sustainable community. I aim to visit those while exploring and discussing opportunities for cooperative and community living with friends and family across the United States.

But wait, there’s more. Recently I had my first cataract surgery and the second is scheduled for October 10. I see this clearing my vision as supporting my third eye of intuition. In the meantime I’m doing the work of emptying file cabinets and throwing out little scraps of paper, the lists of things to do I didn’t do, recipes I didn’t cook, and all the things I’ve saved in the “junk drawer.” Hopefully at the end of my life I’m saving my family the days of sorting and sifting and shaking their heads wondering why mom saved this; and saving myself that particular indignity.

Thomas Moore writes, “Aging brings out the flavors of a personality. The individual emerges over time, the way fruit matures and ripens.”  I think of this as a distillation of myself. I am woman, watch my steam.

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Endings

  1. Congratulations to you, Marian! Go for it! I look forward to reading about your adventures and discoveries.

  2. Jan Hodgman says:

    You go, Granni! And so much more! Happy trails happy beings and doings and becomings!
    with love, Jan

  3. Penny Bilkey says:

    Happy Trails!! I’ve used mega bus. Clean, efficient, great! Comes to Ann Arbor from Chicago.

  4. Donna Butman says:

    Such a wonderful mission. Can’t wait to read/hear about your adventures. That third eye will get a workout. Good thing you got the others fixed to give it a brea.

  5. Judith HYost says:

    Hi Marian – I love your curiosity, your adventurous spirit and your setting an example for all of us “old gals” who won’t sit still and let the status quo be. It will be a fun time following your journey, and a gift to all who do. Much Love, Judith

  6. Carol Huntley says:

    Marian, you rascal! You beat me to the blog! I love it. May I follow in your footsteps?
    I promise not to plagiarize you but I do hope I’ve got some of your spunk. SO glad you
    are doing this, for however long it takes. I love you Marian. And I’ll love keeping track of you.
    I want to compare notes……
    Carol

    • Where are you girl? I miss you. Of course you should have a blog… love M

      • Carol Huntley says:

        Marian, I’m in Mt. Vernon – where I was the last time we met. 425-344-2000
        I’ll call you soon. Today is a busy one, but I may still make contact later today.
        Get in a quickie, maybe?
        Love to you.
        Carol-girl

  7. ellen stirling says:

    Hello Marian!
    Is this what I have to look forward to? yippee! I know your soul will lead you in a wonderful journey. I miss you. If you are in our area come live with us for a spell.
    a blog? not yet!
    ellen

  8. Clare says:

    Well, I do not know where you are now – for the last post was October 5, 2011 and it is now nearing March, 2012. I live in Texas and would love to have you visit me when you are in the DFW area of Texas (if your wanderings take you that far afield). I have been researching intentional communities. Tentatively, I plan to drive my motorhome to Portland/Seattle areas to spend the summer months June-mid September. Perhaps we will hook up then. I am going on pilgrimage to Assisi, Italy in May/early June, otherwise would arrive in NW in May. The pilgrimage is an early birthday gift to myself for my 80th birthday. Please pray my hips and stamina hold out.

Leave a Reply

