Eating Out

sept 008 Tonight my kitchen is warm and smells oh so sweet and lemony. There is fresh fig compote bubbling on the stove. I wanted to add candied ginger but searching in the cupboard I remembered using the last of it in a tofu dish.

I’ve vowed to eat my way out of house and home – eat what is here as much as I can instead of bringing home new groceries.

Weeks ago I dug maybe 15 pounds of potatoes out of the garden and gather 6 to 8 eggs a day from my chickens, the beets are thriving and a new planting of kale will be ready soon  if the slugs don’t eat it first. The succulent ripe figs are from my friend Priscilla’s tree and a large grape vine here is full of fruit. I will not go hungry and I have enough to share.

Last week I watched Dive! The Film – Living Off America’s Waste, about dumpster diving. Then this video about how much food is thrown away in Europe came to my attention. http://vimeo.com/15693148. Maybe as a culture we are becoming attuned to the dichotomy between people going hungry and those of us who have more than enough.

As I watched these films I thought about the food scraps I feed my chickens and/or put in the compost for the vegetable garden. In the European film I was especially taken by the bread thrown away and how bread can be used as fuel – and not fuel for bodies which is how I usually think about bread. http://www.bread.org/

By what miracle does this cracker made from Kansas wheat, this cheese ripened in French caves, this fig, grown and dried near Ephesus, turn into Me? My eyes, my hands, my cells, organs, juices, thoughts? Am I not then Kansas wheat and French cheese and Smyrna figs? Figs, no doubt, the ancient Prophets ate?  ~ Judith Morley, From Earth Prayers

figs 009

Simple fresh fig compote – a pan full of ripe figs mashed with skins, sugar and lemon juice and a little water. Let the figs and the  liquid bubble with the sugar until thickened. Maybe yours will keep in the refrigerator or sealed in jars. Mine won’t last for long – it’s wonderful still warm on ice cream, or straight from the frig on toast or hot cereal for breakfast.

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating Out

  1. Sounds delicious, Marian. When I lived in Stockton, CA (1966-68), we had a huge fig tree in our backyard that had hundreds of figs each year. Wonderful tree.

  2. Oh Yumm. Is there much nicer than fresh figs from the tree? M

Leave a Reply

