Walking the labyrinth

IMG00623-20110924-1142

Chartres design labyrinth, turf style maintained by mowing at the Episcopal Church of the Holy Spirit, Vashon Island. We walked this labyrinth within a “circle of sound.” It was a wonder-filled experience to walk  surrounded by old trees and the amazing harmonies of the singing bowls filling the air. It was also a gift to be able to support others by “playing” the bowl. 

  IMG00620-20110924-1113IMG00624-20110924-1142

Kathleen Calby whose blog site is about her work with singing bowls wrote, “Someone said the phrase, “sacred vessels” the other day, and it connected with the singing bowls for me. …sacred, because they hold a form of consciousness, which is conveyed when they are played. Their exteriors can’t contain them. We tend to forget that our own harmonies and dissonances have similar far-reaching effects.” ~resoundingjoy2u.wordpress.com

IMG00632-20110924-1332IMG00630-20110924-1330

A woodland path labyrinth defined by moss covered logs.

IMG00678-20110924-1544IMG00673-20110924-1539

A private Vashon Island labyrinth made from hundreds of wine bottles tapped into earth beside gravel paths. To walk this labyrinth one moves from glass path to gravel path and back again. (photos by Priscilla Taylor on her iPhone)

My friend of 30 years, Priscilla Taylor and I spent a Saturday on Vashon Island, at a labyrinth walk sponsored by the Western Washington Labyrinth Network. As we listened again to a wonderful telling of the story of Ariadne and the Minotaur, some believe is connected to the labyrinth in Western history, I thought about how our brain – right and left hemisphere – is often described as a labyrinth. I wondered if marking this form is built into being human; an archetype. Clearly I am not the first to make this connection.   http://www.viewzone.com/labyrinth.html

Nor am I the first to recognize that walking the labyrinth on an island is one way of marking the endings of my time here and the mystery of new beginnings.

clip_image002

Whirlpool off coast of Saipan – photo, Marian Methner, 2006

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Labryinth, singing bowls and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walking the labyrinth

  1. I thought of you when I walked the labyrinth at Chartres, France, recently. A dream come true. From what I could learn on the internet the sanctuary chairs are only removed from the floor where the labyrinth is located on Fridays –and not always then. I did lots of self-talk on the train from Paris to Chartres and then as we walked the short distance from the village to the cathedral. “I won’t be disappointed. It is enough to be here.” I took deep breaths as I entered the quiet darkness of the cathedral and what did I see–chairs! Before I could even assess how I was feeling, my husband beckoned me forward to where the labyrinth was visible and where many were walking the ancient path. I, too, would add my breath and my imprint to this space. Yes, a dream come true. And soon after we walked the path, circling in to the center and then back out, the chairs were replaced back on top of the labyrinth. I felt blessed. Nancy A

  2. Oh Nan, So many times I’ve thought about our walk on the labyrinth in Ohio! I’m so glad for you and your dream come true… M

  3. Virginia says:

    I would love for you to walk the labyrinth I made in my back “40”

Leave a Reply

