count down

fall 003-1

This Autumn picture represents my count down better than a picture of piles of disarray. The aster has gone to seed, and the leaves on the willow fell after the heavy frost earlier in the week. The Hemlock retains her structure and brilliant color this dreary morning.

I am a bit overwhelmed. I need to be out and leave a clean house this Saturday. On Monday, Matt helped move my mattress, box springs, bed, dressers, and kitchen table to storage – in the pouring rain. For 2 days I couldn’t cook or take a hot bath because the propane tank was empty. Monday night I sat with a glass of beer, a microwave baked potato from my garden, peas and creamed corn all piled on top of the potato. Comfort food extraordinaire.

An angel filled the tank yesterday and checked to make sure the hot water tank pilot is lit. I had a hot bath last night – ahh. I slept in my office on a futon. Now it’s covered with boxes I hope to get to storage today before I pick Zeb and Phoebe up from school to say a last goodbye to the farm.

Good news: I’m down to sewing fabric, art supplies and junque.  I had a bonfire this morning until the rain began. I’ve burned business papers I don’t want floating around the recycling center, and some of my journals. I imagine by tomorrow night I’ll have only bits of junk for another fire or the garbage truck. Sally just emailed to say she’ll take Friday off to help with the last push to get me outa here!

The other good news is I have a train ticket to Chicago. From there I’ll take the train to Kalamazoo to meet my sister and brother- in- love. After a few days rest – I couldn’t get a berth so will sleep the best I can in my seat – we’ll drive to Illinois to pick up my nephew Charlie who is in college at University of Illinois in Champagne. From there we’ll drive to Indiana to have Thanksgiving with my brother’s family. We will celebrate Dad’s 96th birthday at the same time. Yes!

sisterslongtimeagoUsually we have lemon meringue pie.. must have been lemon cake.

Stay tuned in December for goal number 2; time with Little Number 1, my grandson who is next in line for a Granni visit in the Detroit area before I return to the Northwest for Christmas with Coos Bay kids, and the month of January dog sitting in B’ham. Life is good!

 

Evan Birthday/Halloween

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to count down

  1. Carol Huntley says:

    Marian, you’re downsizing in my footsteps!!!
    Amazing process, isn’t it?
    I hear the lightness in your heart, burbling up.
    My favorite part was you burning journals! Wow! Good!
    A+ for you.
    Sounds to me like you have planned a huge smorgasbord of loved ones
    and you’re going to to be running all over the place. Well, let me know when you are coming here!
    I bought you an Aerobed but you have to come here to get it……..
    I love you, Marian
    Carol/Prairie girl

Leave a Reply

