looking for teachers

IMG00489-20110904-1352

I am at my son Ross’s house. He and his wife Patti are at work and Evan is at his sitter’s so I have time to surf the web. This morning someone contacted me via the Creation Spirituality website (http://originalblessing.ning.com/) and suggested that since my doctoral dissertation was A Map to Living Openheartedly, my current journey would include living open heartedly and “seeing what happens…”

Yes, and No about waiting to see what happens. I read another blog that included the following by Jacqueline Herships who ended her article with the statement “I believe I am looking for teachers.” (The Little Old Lady Stays Put, blogspot.com) http://www.timegoesby.net/elderstorytelling/2011/11/wangari-muta-maathai.html.

My journey includes the intent to continue to widen paths cut by many teachers before me and looking for new teachers. Matthew Fox, one of my most important teachers, teaches we are meant to be creative beings and must choose that path if we are to change our world (http://www.creationspirituality.info/Fox.html). Robert Fritz, another on my list of teachers teaches we must acknowledge our current reality to accomplish our vision (http://www.robertfritz.com/index.php?content=principles).

One of my realities and that of my friends is living on a very limited income; Our vision is to create community to share resources.

The following article from The Nation is a fine example of moving from a place of negativity (Via Negativa) to using our creativity to transform community (Via Creativa) (http://www.thenation.com/article/164766/peoples-library-occupy-wall-street-lives).

William Scott and his fellow volunteer librarians at Occupy Wall Street join ranks with my best teachers, incorporating everything I believe about how we will transform the world we now live in to the world we desire for our children.

 

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to looking for teachers

  1. Dear Marian, I’ve been reading your posts and for some reason I feel a spiritual kinship to you. I am 64 and living in a senior community in Denver. Because my income is also limited and fixed my choices are limited and fixed as well. My dream, for many years, has been to live in an intentional community of spiritual, creative, intelligent women who are my age, give or take a year here or there. I have been denied entrance into this ‘community’ of my dreams due to lack of resources and, oddly, lack of ‘place’. In Colorado, a very spiritual place to begin with, there are many areas where a group of women could combine resources and live comfortably and happily. So, my question to you is: how do I make this wish into reality? In your adventures across our country, have you been able to find answers for us?
    I look forward to communicating with you on all subjects, but most specifically on our mutual quest.
    Shalom. Mardene Abarbanell

    • WhoHoo. Your response is exactly what I hoped would happen when I began the blog! I am still living in the question “how do we make this dream a reality?” Welcome to the pilgrimage. You have given me an idea for the topic of my next blog – place. Please share what that means to you… blessings, Marian

Leave a Reply

