Cooking on the road

Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all.
Harriet Van Horne

Taking a peak into the heart of Lena, the HeartMath Kitchen Head Chef, she says:
“Cooking with care for friends and family during the holidays is a wonderful way to bring people together and to share your love with those around you.”
Learn two of Lena’s recipes…
http://www.care2.com/greenliving/chanterelle-and-jeweled-carrot-salad.html

As I gave up my little house for a life on the road some concerns rose to the surface: comfortable beds, showers vs tubs and above all could I sometimes do the cooking?

My first stop was my sister and brother-in- law’s house in Kalamazoo Michigan. Howard has fallen in love with back yard and front yard gardening. This year he had a bumper crop of chard, broccoli and hot green peppers.  We ate chard, broccoli and peppers in everything – breakfast lunch and dinner. Yummy. But I still wanted to cook.

parkwood garden 005

My sister Carol is principal of a large elementary school and Howard substitute teaches. One day while they were working I took it upon my self to prepare a spaghetti dinner – yes, that’s the ticket – just do it! We sat down to eat together giving thanks for our lives together, for the garden produce and for my cooking.

Next on our agenda was Thanksgiving dinner at my brother Carl’s in Indiana. He was adamant that we weren’t to bring anything for the feast. He was cooking and my sister’s daughter-in-laws and sons were baking and bringing wine. This led to a conversation about sensitivity to our lovely daughters and sons-in-law and our grown children.  We no longer have to be in charge. Cowabunga, what a concept!

IMG_7507IMG_7542

My nephew John baked challah, and a farm loaf, his wife Kara baked her grandmother’s famous orange cake. My nephew Ted and his wife Sabrina brought half a case of local cranberry wine they enjoy. Carol and I sat back and enjoyed time with our nieces and nephews and our Dad. Everyone enjoyed the feast and gave thanks to the cooks. We all cleaned up.

IMG_7470IMG_7547

Next was my stay in Macomb with my son and daughter-in-law. Ross cooks! He did ask if I’d help him fix stir fry one night and watched as I went through my approach. Patti thanked me for taking care of myself at breakfast and lunch. Good approach; help out when I can and stay out of the way when necessary. Evan helps cook, eats with gusto, and helps clean.

IMG_7765more evan 068IMG_7694IMG_7729

Tonight, back in Washington, I’m cooking for my Saipan friend Rhonda, a busy midwife. Last night I walked to the local grocery store for some of my favorite additions, prepared the vegetables and made stir fry. Today I raided the refrigerator and made beef stew from leftover pot roast. Clearly I’ll find my way in others’ kitchens.

rhondas 005

I’m on the train back to Bellingham. I plan to make caramel corn with the kids tomorrow night. Share the love.

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

