one is silver and the other gold

Make new friends, and keep the old, one is silver and the other gold.

Collage created by a group of women artist friends and me… 2010

I woke up at 5:30 on the day I went to the Seattle airport for my friend Mary, my silly old fool. I needed to scrub the bathroom and wash the dishes from the night before. I needed to change the sheets.

After I scrubbed the bathroom and changed the sheets, I went back to bed to meditate. I could only think about our 30+ years of friendship. “She won’t care if there is dog hair in the corners or even mud tracked into the kitchen!”

We met because an old friend brought a guest to my annual Christmas dessert party. When the guest left she called Mary and proclaimed “I found them, I found them.” Them was us; a little bit flakey, a little bit spiritual in the 70s exploring sense, imperfect parents, lobbyists and not a few nut cases.

Mary called me to introduce herself and we became fast friends; for awhile we lived across the street from each other and once she lived in my house. I’ve visited her in the UP of Michigan and in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. She pushed me around in my wheel chair in Pennsylvania after I broke my feet and she visited in Saipan for a month after my marriage broke up. I’ll change her diaper if need be.

Halfway to the airport I met a new friend for lunch. Carol has just downsized from a large home to a very small apartment. We participate in a women’s artist group together – we laugh. We had a good visit. She shared some poetry she’s written recently and loaned me her DVD collection of David Whyte’s poetry.

009Marian and Mary at Tweets

Mary has been here for a week. She needs rest from traveling since Thanksgiving. She sleeps late. We’ve seen the movie The Way. We toured Skagit Valley with my daughter Sally and ate lunch at Tweets, a local favorite. We visited a wonderful beaded quilt show. Mary bought the Paris Wife at our local bookstore and later we ate oysters and drank cocktails at one of our favorite haunts. Mary read The Paris Wife in 3 days. Then, like If You Give a Moose a Muffin, we had to make popcorn and watch the movie Midnight in Paris.

031 I took this picture leaving Bow a week ago.

We have blowing snow here; more than in Michigan. Nearby friends had to cancel visits because of icy roads. Yesterday, while the snow piled up we visited the show at our terrific Lightcatcher art and children’s museum. It’s cold, so we’ve snuggled in for my homemade squash soup and crusty bread, naps, movies and popcorn, good books, and Scrabble – we cheat and laugh a lot – treasured old friend time. Life doesn’t get any better than this.

jan 18 002

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to one is silver and the other gold

  1. Donna Butman says:

    I love to talk with my old friends — and new ones too. Thanks for talking about what is special about friendships and that we just have to be ourselves to have a great time together. Donna

  2. Carol Huntley says:

    Nice to read this stuff, Marian. I like your version of what you’re doing.
    I even made it into the blog! Wow!
    How do I get the pictures to open? I’m fairly computer illiterate.
    Carol

  3. Carol Huntley says:

    Marian, I found the pictures on the opening page which showed up in a different form than
    the one I last comented on.
    I’m deeep into much more David Whyte poetry and his corporate work on what he calls, entering the “conversation” – the frontier possible when you decide to get beyond your self-identity and have
    a true exchange with yourself, another or the world. It is deeply satisfying to go here. Go to http://www.davidwhyte.com and read some of his poetry……

  4. Carol, Whyte will be speaking at Seattle University on Feb. 4.

Leave a Reply

