Lightening the load

It feels so good to have time with hearts’ friends. I left Madison with renewed connection to an old friend and renewed connection with a more recent school friend. Last Tuesday evening the three of us sat together in a restaurant sharing food and stories. I told a story that I hadn’t realized has been so heavy on my heart. Later I felt as if I’d dropped a giant rock in a safe place beside the road.

“Dr. Bruce Carlson, a cell biologist, tells that at the base of every leaf is the spore of a new bud waiting to grow in its place. Mark Nepo writes that once the old leaf lets go a new leaf is possible. Letting dead things that we carry fall away stops the inhibitors of growth, and this allows new things to mature in us.”

Shedding – letting go again and again is part of this journey out of my comfortable place that holds habits of behavior and thinking – and by shedding I’m lightening up, preparing to live with freer internal storage space along with less physical space.

IMG_8333It was still unseasonably warm when I left Nancy in Madison for Marquette where it is cold and windy. But my Silly Old Fool and I are tucked in for a week of remembering her mom who just died and thinking about what next for each of us.

My research continues about affordable housing. To my surprise I found the Bellingham Affordable Housing Taskforce Report from 2010. Although the document welcomed volunteers there is no contact information anywhere in it. I’ve suspected that Bellingham is a rather closed community. I admit, I was busy with family, farm and my dissertation duties, however my intuition and experience is there is an “old guard” that doesn’t operate with open arms. Sadly, that and headlines in the paper announcing rents are increasing, and a long waiting list to enter low income housing are strikes against my settling there.

As I’ve traveled I’ve wondered about retrofitting empty buildings for housing. This morning I found a number of examples of reusing schools. It seems to me a good investment with the numbers of baby boomers expected to live well into our 90s; seniorhousingnews.com/2011/11/21/retrofitting-how-older-facilities-can-be-updated-and-improved/.

Finally, Meri K. featured me in her blog www.FinallyMe.com. I am honored and think you will enjoy reading about all of the fascinating women she features.

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

