time stands still

I have a feeling that my boat has stuck, down there in the depths, against a great thing.

And nothing happens! Nothing… silence… waves..

Nothing happens? Or has everything happened, and we are standing now, quietly, in the new life? ~ Juan Ramon Jimenez, translated by Robert Bly

IMG_8617Entering Newark Airport on the way to Richmond VA from Indianapolis

My week in Indianapolis with my brother, sister-in-love and Dad was terrific. Carl and Barbara and I had more time together than we’ve had in 50 years. We picked up like we were kids in high school and close-by colleges together many years ago.

Dad and I also caught up. I asked questions and he told stories; Some I’ve heard before, some with a different take and some new stories.

042212140411 (1)   We laughed – Mom always asked, “Can’t we ever have a picture without a beer bottle?”

Tops on my list for the rest of my life is laughter. Lots of laughter. This is how my friend Barbara met me at the Richmond, Virginia airport. I was so doubled up with laughter that I forgot to take pictures until we returned to her house.

IMG_8621IMG_8620

Barb is an artist. She cuts up old cookie and candle tins and creates amazing creatures. IMG_8760

The time here is a gift of art making I haven’t taken in a long time. IMG_8674 IMG_8788

And museum and gallery going.

And dog kisses. I forgot to tell you about the dog kisses. 5 dogs! I love having dog kisses. IMG_8777IMG_8772

I’m close to the end of my traveling about and I’m close to a decision about where and how I’ll live this summer. Stay tuned.

IMG_8730

http://www.gypsyink.com/2012/05/10-things-ive-learned-from-anne-lamott/

http://tracycochran.org/2012/05/alone-with-others/

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to time stands still

  1. Claire Ryle Garrison says:

    Marian – you continue to amaze and delight me with your journeys, inner and outer. You are such an inspiration. I want to make cookie tin creatures with you and Barb, too! sending spring blessings and love, Claire

  2. Marian, I feel like I am in your suitcase…quietly…witnessing your journey. For those of us, like me, who are still tethered to careers and choices, I am gleaning a new horizon from your explorations. I’ve always thought of myself as adventurous, but you do it better than most! You go girl! Can’t wait to see your smile across a coffeehouse table in Seattle! Love your way, Mari

Leave a Reply

