Bounty

2012-08-27 001 2012-08-27 006

One of my greatest pleasures is reading. Serendipity while reading is a bonus. Toward the end of  Louise Penny’s wonderful book, The Beautiful Mystery,  I read, If you found a treasure map that had all the directions, but not the place to begin, it’d be useless.

In my last post I wrote that I must draw a new map for my rapidly changing life. I’ve asked myself where is the place I begin? Rotting apples were all over my backyard and the herbs I planted in early August had gone wild while I was in Oregon. Pulling bindweed that threatened what garden I have, the word “bounty” came to me.

The Merriam Webster meaning of bounty surprised me: “a reward, premium, or subsidy especially when offered or given by a government.” The way I feel about bindweed that definition seems apt – but, I was thinking more like this definition;

If there is bounty on your table, it means there are lots of kinds of foods and plenty of them. This is where I begin.

If the only prayer you say is thank you, that would suffice ~meister eckhart

I picked up the worm-free apples, picked the rest off the tree and made Apple Betty, and apple butter. I made pesto with the herbs. Yesterday Zebbie and I picked a bucket of  plums from the trees behind the garage. I have a pot of jam bubbling on the stove. 

I try to remember, when I sit on my porch to meditate in the morning, or when I climb into bed at night, to give thanks for the fact that my new map begins with this little house with a stove and refrigerator, my family and friends, the library, terrific doctors and … Medicare. (laugh track here, or refer back to reward, premium, etc.)

2012-08-27 001 2012-08-27 0102012-08-27 001 2012-08-27 004

“Leave the door open for the unknown, the door into the dark. That’s where the most important things come from, where you yourself came from, and where you will go.”
Rebecca Solnit, A Field Guide to Getting Lost

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Bounty and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bounty

  1. Louise says:

    Oh I can just smell the aroma of bubbling plum jam and am
    envious. Maybe next year when i have two arms that function.

  2. You are both an expert in finding where and how to begin–again. And you are an expert inmaking your bounty even more bounteous.

Leave a Reply

