Night Vision

I slept late this morning but when I got up it was still so dark I couldn’t see my foster dog Brody in the back yard. Finally I saw his eyes lit by my flashlight.

Brody 2012-12-07 002

As a grey light enters my room, my contemplative reading is When Women Were Birds, by Terry Tempest Williams. Her mother and grandmothers died within months of each other from cancer. At one place she writes:

The courage to continue in the face of despair is the recognition that in those eyes of darkness we find our own night vision.

This waiting through the darkness of winter requires finding our own night vision – our faith in ourselves, our family and friends, our community, the World and even Something Bigger. Hanukah, the celebration of enough oil to light the lamps in the darkness, has just ended. This is the Christian season of Advent – we are following a faraway star because we are promised The Light. It is a time of anticipation.

Tempest Williams reveals that she has a hemangioma (a tangle of vessels) in the “eloquent area of her brain, the home of language comprehension, where metaphor and the patterned mind live.” She lives with the knowledge that she could have a stroke at any time. Feeling frozen, she wonders how does she live with that diagnoses.

I woke up wondering how will I feel if the results of tomorrow’s echocardiogram show my ejection fraction has bettered to the point, an edge of numbers, that I do not need a defibrillator implant. Or, what if I need one?

Last night I was urging my Bellingham grandkids to get ready for bed. They were decorating small trees in their bedrooms. Phoebe confidently decorated hers’ with glittery snow flakes, bulbs and bows and ribbons.  Zeb, 7, was piling the little Christmas tree in his bedroom with stuffed animals.  He was tossing older stuffies out of a box at the end of his bed when he called out “Wolfie, my beloved!” Then with his face all lit up he placed this worn, dirty, wolf by his tree.

There is no end to this story. It is a Mystery.

christmas 002

 

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Night Vision

  1. Donna Butman says:

    Dear Marian, I so treasure your thoughts and your willingness to share it all with us. Your heart diagnoses are a reminder of how fragile life is. Your dealing with the diagnoses manifests your open heart and how well your being heals us all. Merry, Happy, my dear friend.

  2. Blessings and light to you and on your beautiful words and work. May your great heart beat on and on. Thank you for sharing yourself, your explorations and the poems and other work that moves you on your Sacred Way!

  3. Louise says:

    Your reflections remind me of just how vulnerable we all are and how being vulnerable presents an opportunity to refine and focus our lens on living.

    Thank you Marian for sharing your heart, Love, Louise

  4. Your brilliant (as in bringing light) post made me think of Jan Richardson’s Advent book, Night Vision. She writes, “In the daylight we can get by on sight, but for the nighttime is our hearing, is our tasting, is our smelling, is our questioning, longing touching.”

Leave a comment