mugged by perfectionism

 

momband

my mom at 16 in her band uniform – she played flute and piccolo 

On Mother’s Day I called my sister because, “you are the only other person who looks in the mirror and sees Mom.”  Laughing she responded, “yes, and I hear her voice all the time too.”  Carol and I talked about a quilt I’m working on that is a bit outside my competency. I often “bless” it –  a confession our mom shared each time she gave one her beautiful quilts to a grandchild at their wedding.    

phoebe quilt progress 004may quilts 002

I’m continually mugged by perfectionism.  Frustrated working on an internet newsletter demanding a high learning curve, I gave up and washed the dishes piled in the sink. Then fried some bacon for lunch – not the food most favored by a healthy heart diet – but I was tired of trying to “get it right.” 

Last Saturday, the first day it was activated, I took my new “smart phone” to a family picnic. When I got to the sprawling park I needed to call a family member to figure out where we were gathered – that’s when I realized I hadn’t transferred any phone numbers! The first time my 8-year-old grandson picked up that “smart phone” and texted his mother, I remembered this stuff is in their DNA and mine was formed with rotary dial.

   we learned: the “double helix” kinda like the long twisted phone cord when I dragged the phone into the broom closet for privacy.

They learn science: DNA Found to Have “Impossible” Telepathic Properties

Dna47_3_2 DNA has been found to have a bizarre ability to put itself together, even at a distance, when according to known science it shouldn’t be able to.

 

I follow this blog because I love fabrics all patched and mended; after all I am a collage artist. ( http://blueandwhitetokyo.com/2014/05/21/mending-my-ways/)mend1In our accelerating and disposable world, have we lost sight of the preciousness of things, the importance of keeping them safe and honoring them?

I gave up my “old” cell phone because I want the magic of “Face Time” with my Michigan grandson and his parents and I love trading photos and texting with my Oregon grandkids.

I’ll finish this blessed quilt because my granddaughter chose the pattern for her birthday present. The imperfect newsletter was broadcast on time via the internet and the next one is in the works. NPR recently talked about surveys that show quilting and other puzzle solving is good for the brains of “seniors.” Maybe I “still have it” whatever “have it” is. Mostly I think “it” is about my sense of the ridiculous.

 

the art of surrendering  by Liza M. DiNunzio

to surrender
does not mean to give up.
for me,

it is about finding the grace and the strength within

to try a different way…

a different way of seeing,

doing,

feeling.

and then,

letting go of the outcome

and expecting the best.

Thank you Lisa.  http://www.pritistudio.com/2014/05/the-art-of-surrendering.html

The Prayer Flag Project  

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to mugged by perfectionism

  1. Louise says:

    How helpful Marian. You are one of my treasures. Love, Louise

  2. Anne says:

    Frustration and letting go! God’s afoot! And a hand, and a heart . . .

  3. You rock, Marion! Have you considered sending your posts to elephantjournal.com or rebellesociety.com? I think more people need to take inspiration from your fabulous patchwork of words and images. In any event, I sure do; indeed after a 9 month hiatous from writing *my* blog, a post should be up tomorrow (and you had something to do with it)! Sending all love and support.

  4. You are so affirming – but always were/are! I’m looking forward to your new post. Tell me more about sending something to elephant journal – I love what I’ve read there (you) and rebellesociety… I’ll look them up. Love – how is the move? sounds like you are in Nova Scotia? M

Leave a Reply

