How To Yield

wisteria 006

How to Yield

Maybe I want it
Even long for it
Whatever it is

Let it stay where it is

Give it up
Even for a moment, a second, an
Eon of time – one atom
at a time

Give it over
To where it grows,
where it resides.
Let the roots plow deep
into the Earth.

It is not mine to take
Only to love and observe,
maybe water with my tears
or my dishwater

No matter
Let it stay where it is
a feast for my eyes.
~ Marian Methner, 2015

wisteria 007

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How To Yield

  1. Louise says:

    wonderful!

  2. nagneberg48 says:

    Your words are always inspiring. Thank you. I especially love the idea of giving it up for a moment. If we can let go for a moment, then we can for another moment, until….

  3. gwpj says:

    Very beautiful, Marian; thank you so much for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

