Books or People?

Books or plants 009

 “How fun is it to read a fantastic book if you can’t tell others about it, talk about it, and quote from it constantly?”

Yes! Just minutes before I read this sentence I’d refilled my coffee cup and sent a picture of the cover of The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend * to my sister and my daughter, announcing, “good book!”

The story begins with the youngish bookseller Sara, who traveled from Sweden to a small Iowa town to stay with Amy who hasn’t shown up at the bus station to drive her to her home. Sara “who has never been anywhere,” and Amy became friends through their correspondence about books.

Books or people? The question, discussed in the friends’ letters, is central to the story of Broken Wheel.  “They’re meant to be better than reality… bigger, funnier, more beautiful, more tragic, more romantic.”

Sunday night at our family gathering for Keith’s birthday  friends announced “We are reading a fabulous book to each other.A rambling conversation followed about The Little Paris Bookshop and about how we share the practice of bibliotherapy –  ‘I know the perfect book for you’ with friends or even a stranger.

Fork in the road: Last summer I was walking with my foster dog when a man walked toward us excitedly waving a book.As soon as I said hello he shouted, “Have you read this book?”  I recognized the red cover of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and said ‘yes, I really liked it.’ He proceeded to tell me why he thinks Mark Hadden is one of the best living writers today! We introduced ourselves – Bob – and I chatted about writing and the bugs all around us. I learned that he’s a transplant from California where he taught entomology, and that he’s a published poet, and I learned about the delightful writing group at the Senior Center, which I sporadically attend with a table-full of new friends.

I’m back: Yesterday at our Tai Chi class, a woman I like very much who laughs easily, said “there is someone I’d like to bring over to meet you. She’s new in town and thinks it’s very hard to make friends here. She’s an artist, and I think the two of you could be friends.” Of course I said yes, and immediately thought of books about being the new person in town that I might share with her, including Broken Wheel.

We need opportunity to reveal our vulnerability. Our human hearts are full and we need others to whom we can reveal ourselves. Books give us mirrors and the best part is sharing who we discover. She or he comes out when they claim Oh, I read the best book, and we respond, tell me about it.

*http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25573977-the-readers-of-broken-wheel-recommend

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1618.The_Curious_Incident_of_the_Dog_in_the_Night_Time

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/494281.Bibliotherapy

http://www.bustle.com/articles/99274-14-books-all-introverts-should-read-because-these-books-will-totally-get-you

 

 

About Marian Methner, B.S., D.Min.

Polydox: accepting that we are many labels, I am mother of 4, mother in law (love) of 4 and grandmother of 5. My life is a collection of bits and starts. I was recently on the road for over a year exploring ideas of living in shared housing. A recent summer course in Permaculture design, solidifed my interest in "social permaculture" or ways we interact not only with our Earthly environment but also with each other. I am back Bellingham, Washington, in a small rental house, owned by my ex husband, talk about shared housing, practicing living in community with family, and friends. My doctoral dissertation A Map to Living Open Heartedly, centers around making art as a way to healing. Paradoxiclly, a recent diagnoses of heart failure (cardiomyopathy) expands this exploration...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books or People?

  1. Judy Mieger says:

    lovely. just ordered it—thanks! finished The Goldfinch this morning—helped me survive 4 days down with bronchitis… Missed helping with Baby Harry today—pooh…. so disorientating—this being sick thing… better today but off to go rest a bit again… XOX >

  2. Darn. I’m sorry you’ve been sick. Its going around… but that’s not helpful. I couldn’t get through the Goldfinch… You’ll have to tell me about it. Love and far away hugs.

  3. Anne says:

    I’m being inspired by “Hope Is a Traveler: a collection of poems” by Susan Frybort
    “And while all the infinite possibilities expand within,
    may you sing alod, rejoicing in your new birth,
    no longer owned by anyone’s idea
    of who you should be.”
    xo

  4. Hi there. I need to figure out how to comment on your blog entries on your blog, but can’t seem to figure it out. I ordered two of the books (or maybe three) from the introverted list! And your blog made me think of comments made by the artist Anna Hepler in her Vimeo video “Push Me Pull You.” https://vimeo.com/160647820

    “I believe in our vulnerabilities as humans as being our most precious assets. I think that the best work comes from those fragile places. I have the opportunity to dwell there even though it’s mostly really embarrassing and uncomfortable, but it’s also kind of a gold mine.”

Leave a Reply

